Raising the Dirt

So I busted my butt last week making two raised beds to garden in. I wanted to have them ready before the plant sale last Saturday. For those of you that don’t know, raised beds are great for growing veggies and stuff in when your soil sucks. Mine does. I tried to grow some fruits and veggies last year with very mixed results. I think my soil is too sandy and doesn’t have enough organic matter in it to be able to grow most foods. The soil also gets pretty freak’n hard.

So I did a lot of reading and found out about raised bed gardening. Basically you build a frame, (with wood, rocks, leftover concrete chunks, bricks, etc…) and put new dirt into this frame. Way faster then trying to “fix” your soil. And easier on your back supposedly.

Anywho, this is how I made two 6′ x 4′ raised beds:

I went to my neighborhood home depot picked up some 12″ x 2″ x 10′ boards. I had home depot cut the boards into 6′ and 4′ pieces. (They’ll cut stuff for free.) I also bought one 2″ x 2″ x 10 piece that I had the dude cut into 8 pieces. These were for the corner posts which you screw the long boards into. I also bought a box of “deck screws”. You can see them in one of the pictures below with some potatoes that I “found” when I was digging. Some buddies from last year…

predrill1

Predrill

I found that if I predrilled holes into the wood it screwed together way easier.

foundpotatos1

Potato Surprise! and deck screws...

And if I screwed both corner post guys, into the short boards first and then screwed the long boards last, it also worked better.

buildingraisedbeds1

Short Side First

raisedbed2

Completed Frame

raisedbed3

Done! The one in front has the new dirt in it.

When you’re done you get your buddy to flip the whole thing over. Dig holes into the ground for the corner post things to go into and then you’re ready to rock.

And just as a side note. Don’t get discouraged doing this. The second one I built took about a quarter of the time and is much better constructed. At the end of the day, they’ll both hold dirt and that’s the whole point.

Leave a Reply

